Raising the Bar: Platform Extensions – Getting ready for three-car trains

DART will be raising and extending the platforms of 28 stations along the Red and Blue lines. But what does that actually involve? In Part Two of our series Raising the Bar: Platform Extensions, we will be looking at the specific work that will be done to get DART’s light rail system ready for three-car trains.

What work is being done?

Construction is being done at both aerial and at-grade stations along the Red and Blue lines. The work has two phases: phase one involves raising platforms, and phase two involves extending the raised platforms.

Phase One: Raise

The first part of the project raises platforms at aerial, at-grade and below grade stations by 7.5 inches so the entire platform is able to accommodate level boarding. The new platforms will measure 15.5 inches from the top of the rail to the top of the warning strip. Other features of the platform, like windscreens, tree grates, and light poles will also be raised. Aerial stations will need a little more work to raise standpipes, water valve boxes, stairways, and elevator landings.

Phase Two: Extend

Once platforms are level, work can begin on extending the now-raised platforms. This work is only required for at-grade and below-grade stations because aerial stations are already long enough to support three-car trains. Once the extension work is complete, platforms at these stations will be 450 feet long, made up of:

  • a 385 foot minimum boarding area
  • a 27.5 foot end-ramp on one end
  • a 16.5 foot end-ramp on the other end
  • a 10 foot crossing at each end

What’s next?

Now that you know what work is being done, look out for Part Three of this series, where we will discuss how platform extensions will be of value to commuters and non-commuters alike.

About DART Daily

Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) gets you around 13 cities with rail, bus, paratransit, and rideshare services. We serve DFW International Airport and Fort Worth via the Trinity Railway Express (TRE). The service area consists of 13 cities: Addison, Carrollton, Cockrell Hill, Dallas, Farmers Branch, Garland, Glenn Heights, Highland Park, Irving, Plano, Richardson, Rowlett and University Park.
This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.