Thanks for riding the rails

Join DART in celebrating 20 great years of rail with customer appreciation celebrations at these six locations on Tuesday, June 14 from 6:30 to 9 a.m.

• Akard Station (Downtown Dallas; DART Headquarters)
• Ledbetter Station (Southern Dallas)
• Mockingbird Station (Northern Dallas)
• Parker Road Station (Plano)
• Trinity Mills Station (Carrollton)
• Union Station (Downtown Dallas; transfer point for TRE)

There will be promotional give-aways, the opportunity to sign an oversized “Happy Anniversary” card, and props to take selfies on the platform. Events on the 14th mark a six-month long celebration of rail in the region, culminating with the 20th anniversary of the Trinity Railway Express commuter rail on Dec. 30. Special customer events are planned the 20th of each month from June to December. Check back at for updates.

Light rail has expanded transportation options in North Texas
DART Rail debuted June 14, 1996, with an 11-mile network of Red and Blue lines that extended from Pearl Station in the north, through downtown Dallas to 8th & Corinth Station where the two lines separated. The Blue Line continued mostly due south to Illinois Station and the Red Line went south and southwest to Westmoreland Station. Two decades later, DART Rail is the longest light rail system in North America at 90 miles with 62 stations in eight cities.

DART Rail will extend to 93 miles and 64 stations in late October with the opening of a three-mile Blue Line extension from Ledbetter Station to UNT Dallas.

About DART Daily

Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) gets you around 13 cities with rail, bus, paratransit, and rideshare services. We serve DFW International Airport and Fort Worth via the Trinity Railway Express (TRE). The service area consists of 13 cities: Addison, Carrollton, Cockrell Hill, Dallas, Farmers Branch, Garland, Glenn Heights, Highland Park, Irving, Plano, Richardson, Rowlett and University Park.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.